Swedish crime writer, internationally recognized for her Hammarby series, novels that take place in the southern parts of Stockholm.


Carin Gerhardsen was born in 1962 in the little town of Katrineholm and had a successful career as mathematician and IT consultant before she started to write crime fiction. Her mathematical knowledge is visible in her novels, which contain advanced calculated intrigues. The Hammarby Series let us follow Detective Inspector Conny Sjöberg and his murder investigation team at the Hammarby police in Stockholm. Her latest novel is a standalone psychological thriller.
Carin Gerhardsen lives in Stockholm with her family.


The Hammarby series:

The Gingerbread House (Hammarby book 1)
Translated by Paul Norlén
Original title:  Pepparkakshuset (2008)
Ingrid Olsson returns home from a Stockholm hospital to discover a dead and unknown man in her kitchen.

Criminal Investigator Conny Sjöberg takes the call, abandoning his wife Åsa and their five children for the night. His team identify the body as that of a middle-aged family man. But why was he there? And who bludgeoned him to death?

Cinderella Girl (Hammarby book 2)
Translated by Paul Norlén
Original title: Mamma, pappa, barn (2008)
A teenage girl has been found murdered aboard the Cinderella, a cruise ship which sails between Sweden and Finland.

Detective Chief Inspector Conny Sjöberg visits the girl’s home to deliver the tragic news. But as he investigates, it becomes chillingly clear that the girl’s younger sister is in grave danger – unless the police can trap a vicious killer. And all the while, somewhere in Stockholm, a little girl waits to be found and rescued…

The Last Lullaby (Hammarby book 3)
Translated by Paul Norlén
Original title: Vyssan lull (2010)
Stockholm Criminal Investigator Conny Sjöberg finds a mother and her two young children lying peacefully in bed, their throats coldly and efficiently cut and no signs of a struggle.

As Conny and his team get to work they draw a blank on both motive and suspect for these cruel, senseless murders. The only lead they have is a mysterious benefactor of the family – who eludes their every search.


Black Ice

Translated by Ian Giles
Original title: Det som göms i snö (2018)
January in Gotland. On a deserted, icy backroad, the wintry conditions bring together a group of strangers when a deadly accident and two separate crimes leave victims in their wake. 
Four years later a phone call brings back the terror of that day and a plot for revenge is set in motion. Both Sandra and Jeanette had driven past the same icy ravine, but only one of them left a man to die alone in the snow. Each carried a secret from that day, a secret that, if revealed, could connect them to a larger, more terrible transgression. And there is someone out there who knows the whole picture, and who would rather kill than allow it all to come to light.